Carole A. Sullivan Superior Staff Award for Excellence in Performance

The 2018-2019 Carole A. Sullivan Superior Staff Award for Excellence in Performance Winner is Dawn Horton.

Past Award Recipients

The Staff Advisory Committee (SAC) was originally started in 1993, by the second dean of the college, Dr. Lee H. Holder.  It was called the Staff Development Committee and its purpose was to plan for staff development, retreats, training, etc., that were of interest to staff members.

When Dr. Carole A. Sullivan became dean in 1994, she convened the committee and worked with the staff on developing written guidelines for the committee:  the purpose, structure, etc., as well as guidelines for a staff development program.

During this time, an award for superior staff performance was implemented by Dean Sullivan to recognize excellence in performance by College of Allied Health staff members.  This award is presented at an annual luncheon held each November honoring all staff members and specifically recognizing the “superior staff recipient”; the award comes with a recognition plaque and a monetary award.   The first selection committee was Professors Marty Thompson and David Garrison.  The first recipient was Susanne Brown Bernard in fall 1995.  The next selection committee was chaired by Ms. Bernard with staff appointed from each department.  Ultimately, as new award recipients were selected they replaced the appointed staff members, until all members of the selection committee were comprised of former award recipients. 

In 2006, the SAC members changed the name of the award from the Superior Staff Award for Excellence in Performance to the Carole A. Sullivan Superior Staff Award for Excellence in Performance.

When Dr. P. Kevin Rudeen became dean in 2007, he completely supported SAC and wholeheartedly endorsed the continuation of this award and the annual recognition of staff excellence in the College of Allied Health.

Nomination and Selection Process

Superior Staff Recognition Luncheon

  • Date: TBA
  • Location: Oklahoma History Center

Carole A. Sullivan Superior Staff Award Committee Members

Judith Grove (Chair):  Department of Nutritional Sciences

Cyndie Clubb:  Office of the Dean

Brenda Fox: Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Dawn Horton: Department of Nutritional Sciences

Leslee Smith: Department of Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences