Parent Page: About id: 3934 Active Page: Profileid:5776

College of Allied Health Profile

The College of Allied Health was authorized by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education in 1967, and activated in February 1970, to consolidate and coordinate existing programs on The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center campus and to further develop programs to meet allied health resource needs in Oklahoma. The College of Allied Health’s mission is We Empower Life by maximizing human potential through allied health interprofessional education, research, care, and community engagement.In 2009, the College of Allied Health relocated to its dedicated College building on the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center campus. In November 2020, the College of Allied Health celebrated its 50th anniversary.

The College serves as the academic unit for programs in audiology, communication sciences and disorders, dietetics, nuclear medicine, nutritional sciences, occupational therapy, physical therapy, radiation sciences, radiation therapy, radiography, rehabilitation sciences, sonography, and speech-language pathology.

The college pass rate on professional entry Boards/Licensure examinations in the nine professional-entry programs is over 95%. Through its graduate programs, the College prepares future leadership, faculty, advanced practice clinicians, and researchers for the professions and Oklahoma.

The College is authorized to offer nineteen programs: seven baccalaureate, eleven at the master or doctoral level, and one certificate program. Diagnosis of disease and disorders, wellness and prevention, therapeutic and rehabilitative services, healthcare administration, and allied health professions education encompass the spectrum of professional programs in the College of Allied Health. Faculty offer continuing education programs for practitioners in Oklahoma and the region, and faculty development seminars for clinicians involved with professional-entry programs in the College. 

The College extended its accredited professional-entry programs in Occupational Therapy and Physical Therapy to the OU branch campus in Tulsa in 1998. In 2002, the College offered OU's first web-based graduate degree program in Rehabilitation Sciences, and in 2003 its first post-professional web-based undergraduate degree program in Radiation Sciences. The professional-entry accredited program in Sonography was extended to the OU-Tulsa campus in Fall 2006 and in Fall 2007 the professional-entry accredited program in Radiography was extended to the OU-Tulsa campus; however, the Radiography program on the OU-Tulsa campus was suspended in 2016.



  • Communication Sciences & Disorders (BS)
  • Nutritional Sciences (BS for MA Dietetics only)
  • Nuclear Medicine
  • Radiation Therapy
  • Radiography
  • Sonography
  • Radiation Sciences (Online)


  • Dietetics (MA)
  • Nutritional Sciences (MS)
  • Nutritional Sciences (MA Online)
  • Occupational Therapy (MOT)
  • Speech-Language Pathology (MA)


  • Dietetic Internship


  • Allied Health Sciences (PhD)
  • Audiology (PhD, AuD)
  • Occupational Therapy (OTD-Candidacy)
  • Physical Therapy (DPT)
  • Rehabilitation Sciences (DSc)
  • Speech-Language Pathology (PhD)


All professional-entry programs are fully accredited by their respective professional accreditation organizations.  The University is accredited by the North Central Association.


In FY 2019-2020, the College has 48 full-time and 1 part-time faculty for a total of 48.75 FTE faculty, 181 volunteer faculty, and 37 emeritus faculty.  The College has 36 staff members including 6 professional staff.  We maintain affiliation agreements with 275 clinical facilities, 108 (40%) of which are outside the State of Oklahoma.


  • FY 2019-2020 enrollment is 649 students: 183 undergraduates, 422 professional, 29 graduates, and 15 certificate students.  The College graduated 254 students in FY 2018-2019.

  • Minority enrollment accounts for 29% of total College enrollment.

  • Oklahoma residents constitute 81% of total student enrollment.


  • The College has 8,214 alumni located in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, military serving overseas, South Africa, Singapore, Canada, Hong Kong, Norway, Switzerland, Venezuela, Ethiopia and Mexico.  Over 63%, or 5,220, alumni reside in Oklahoma.


In FY 2019 faculty received 11 awards totaling $1,271,806 and submitted 37 proposals/contracts for a total of $6,851,818.


  • John W. Keys Speech and Hearing Center was established in 1947 at University Hospital as a speech and hearing clinic and moved into its own building in 1957.  When its founding clinic director retired in 1977, the facility was named in his honor as the John W. Keys Speech and Hearing Center.  The Center contains a clinic for care giving, student education, and research labs.

  • Lee Mitchener Tolbert Library and Resource Center for Developmental Disabilities was established in 1998 to meet critical statewide needs for education, development of public policy, research, and model services for Oklahomans with developmental disabilities.


# of Awardees Faculty Awards
1 George Lynn Cross Research Professor
David Ross Boyd Professors
8 Presidential Professors
4 Regents Professors
10  Regents' Awards for Superior Teaching
7 Regents' Awards for Superior Professional and University Service
6 Faculty Senate Governance Awards 
11 AMOCO Foundation Good Teaching Awards
2 Burlington Northern Faculty Achievement Awards for Undergraduate Teaching
1 Provost’s Teaching Award for Seasoned Faculty
13 Associates Distinguished Lectureship Awards


  • Jill Pittman-Jones Endowed Professorship in Physical Therapy established in 1997-98
  • Elam-Plowman Endowed Professorship in Physical Therapy established in 1997-98
  • Stuart Coulter Miller Endowed Professorship in Allied Health established in 2000-01
  • Nancy Gullatt Endowed Professorship of Speech Pathology established in 2000-01
  • Ann Taylor Endowed Professorship in Developmental Disabilities established in 2001-02
  • Elam-Plowman Endowed Chair in Physical Therapy established in 2004-05
  • Ann Taylor Endowed Chair in Developmental Disabilities established in 2004-05
  • Philip and Vivian Smith Endowment in Allied Health established in 1990-91
  • Luiese Lynch Lectureship in Physical Therapy established in 1992-93
  • Dean Lee Holder Lectureship in Allied Health established in 1995-96
  • Sharon Sanderson Lectureship in Occupational Therapy established in 1999-00
  • Barbara M. Curcio Lectureship in Radiologic Technology established in 1997-98
  • Nancy Lynn Olsmith Endowment in Occupational Therapy established in 1998
  • Elam-Plowman Physical Therapy Lectureship established in 2005-06
  • Dean P. Kevin Rudeen Endowed Lectureship established in 2012-13
  • Philip E. Smith Endowed Lectureship established in 2014-15
  • Martha J. Ferretti Lectureship established in 2016
  • Dean Carole A. Sullivan Endowed Lectureship established in 2016-17