https://alliedhealth.ouhsc.edu/Research Parent Page: Research id: 4237 Active Page: Nutritional Sciencesid:25668

Nutritional Sciences Research Laboratories

  • Brian dela Cruz, MS, RDN/LD
    (405) 271-8001, ext. 41181
    Brian-dela-cruz@ouhsc.edu
    • Motivational interviewing as a counseling tool
       
  • Katie Eliot, PHD, RDN/LD, FAND
    (405) 271-2113
    Katie-Eliot@ouhsc.edu
    • Interprofessional education
    • Nutrition education
       
  • Jennifer Graef, PhD, RD
    (405) 271-8001, ext. 41182
    Jennifer-Graef@ouhsc.edu
    • Role of functional foods in preventing and/or alleviating inflammation-associated chronic disease
    • Estrogen deficiency and osteoporosis
    • Dietary alterations of gut microflora and immunity
    • Sport nutrition and performance
       
  • Leah Hoffman, PhD, RD/LD, CNSC
    (405) 271-8001, ext 41174
    Leah-Hoffman@ouhsc.edu
    • Nutrition support (tube feeding and intravenous nutrition)
    • Supportive nutrition care before and after surgery for cancer (especially pancreatic)
    • Critical care nutrition and methods to enable best nutrition practices in the intensive care unit
       
  • Allen Knehans, PhD
    (405) 271-8001, ext 43408
    Allen-Knehans@ouhsc.edu
    • Nutrition and disability
    • Nutrition and peripheral artery disease
       
  • Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity Research Laboratory
    Lab Director: Susan B. Sisson, PhD, RDN, CHES, FACSM
    405-271-2113 x 41176
    Susan-sisson@ouhsc.edu 

    Lab website    
    • Chronic disease prevention through lifestyle intervention
    • Dietary intake, screen time, and physical activity
    • Early childhood and early care and education environments
    • Behavioral epidemiology
    • Policy, system, and environment interventions
    • Collaborates with underserved and minority communities, specifically Native American tribes
       
  • Michael Stout, PhD
    (405) 271-8001, ext. 41177
    Michael-Stout@ouhsc.edu
    • Understand how metabolic disturbances (obesity, dyslipidemia, diabetes) promote aging
    • Role of sex hormones in metabolic disturbances and aging
    • Develop therapeutic strategies that target metabolic signaling pathways to diminish age-related disease
       
  • Special Departmental Activities/Capabilities
    • Offer a children’s cooking camp each summer:  one-week,
    • 11-14 year-old, charge fee for camp
    • Provide dietary services in College clinic, small presence using PRN dietitian
    • Have foods lab kitchen that can be used for cooking classes and demonstrations
    • Contact Judith Grove, judith-grove@ouhsc.edu, (405) 271-2113