College of Allied Health Profile

The College of Allied Health was authorized by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education in 1967, and activated in February 1970, to consolidate and coordinate existing programs on The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center campus and to further develop programs to meet allied health resource needs in Oklahoma. In 2009, the College of Allied Health relocated to its dedicated College building on the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center campus.

The College serves as the academic unit for programs in audiology, communication sciences and disorders, dietetics, medical dosimetry, nuclear medicine, nutritional sciences, occupational therapy, physical therapy, radiation sciences, radiation therapy, radiography, rehabilitation sciences, sonography, and speech-language pathology.

College pass rate on professional entry Boards/Licensure examinations in the ten professional-entry programs is 94.3%. Through its graduate programs, the College prepares future leadership, faculty, advanced practice clinicians, and researchers for the professions and Oklahoma.

The College is authorized to offer twenty-one programs: eight baccalaureate, twelve at the master or doctoral level, and one certificate program. Diagnosis of disease and disorders, wellness and prevention, therapeutic and rehabilitative services, health care administration, and allied health professions education encompass the spectrum of professional programs in the College of Allied Health. Faculty offer continuing education programs for practitioners in Oklahoma and region, and faculty development seminars for clinicians involved with professional-entry programs in the College.

The College extended its accredited professional-entry programs in Occupational Therapy and Physical Therapy to the OU branch campus in Tulsa in 1998. In 2002, the College offered OU's first web-based graduate degree program in Rehabilitation Sciences and in 2003 its first post-professional web-based undergraduate degree program in Radiation Sciences. The professional-entry accredited program in Sonography was extended to the OU-Tulsa campus in Fall 2006 and in Fall 2007 the professional-entry accredited program in Radiography was extended to the OU-Tulsa campus.



  • Communication Sciences & Disorders (BS)
  • Health Studies (BS for MOT only)
  • Nutritional Sciences (BS)
  • Nuclear Medicine
  • Radiation Therapy
  • Radiography
  • Sonography
  • Radiation Sciences (Web)


  • Medical Dosimetry (MS)
  • Dietetics (MA)
  • Nutritional Sciences (MS)
  • Occupational Therapy (MOT)
  • Speech-Language Pathology (MA, MS)


  • Dietetic Internship


  • Allied Health Sciences (PhD)
  • Audiology (PhD, AuD)
  • Physical Therapy (DPT)
  • Rehabilitation Sciences (DSc)
  • Speech-Language Pathology (PhD)


All professional-entry programs are fully accredited by their respective professional accreditation organizations. The University is accredited by the North Central Association.


In FY 2016-2017, the College has 59 full-time and 2 part-time faculty for a total of 60.15 FTE faculty, 178 volunteer faculty, and 35 emeritus faculty. The College has 46 staff members including 7 professional staff. We maintain affiliation agreements with 309 clinical facilities, 55 (18.1%) of which are outside the State of Oklahoma. Within Oklahoma, 41 rural clinical facilities are affiliated with the College.


  • FY 2016-2017 enrollment is 654 students: 221 undergraduates, 398 professional, 21 graduates, and 14 certificate students. The College graduated 261 students in FY 2015-2016.
  • Minority enrollment accounts for 24% of total College enrollment.
  • Oklahoma residents constitute 80% of total student enrollment.


  • The College has 8,016 alumni located in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, military serving overseas, South Africa, Singapore, Canada, Hong Kong, Norway, Switzerland, Venezuela, Ethiopia and Mexico.
  • Over 62%, or 4,950, alumni reside in Oklahoma.


In FY 2016 faculty received 28 awards totaling $3,119,230, and submitted 42 proposals/contracts for a total of $6,034,232.


  • John W. Keys Speech and Hearing Center was established in 1947 at University Hospital as a speech and hearing clinic, and moved into its own building in 1957. When its founding clinic director retired in 1977, the facility was named in his honor the John W. Keys Speech and Hearing Center. The Center contains a clinic for care giving, student education, and research labs.
  • Oklahoma Assistive Technology Center (OATC) was established in 1991 as a model delivery system of specialized professional services and education developed to support the needs of Oklahomans with developmental or acquired disabilities. OATC provides statewide services through Centers at OUHSC and OU–Tulsa.
  • Lee Mitchener Tolbert Library and Resource Center for Developmental Disabilities was established in 1998 to meet critical statewide needs for education, development of public policy, research, and model services for Oklahomans with developmental disabilities.


# of Awardees Faculty Awards
1 George Lynn Cross Research Professor
David Ross Boyd Professors
5 Presidential Professors
Regents Professors
10  Regents' Awards for Superior Teaching
Regents' Awards for Superior Professional and University Service
6 Faculty Senate Governance Awards 
10  AMOCO Foundation Good Teaching Awards
2 Burlington Northern Faculty Achievement Awards for Undergraduate Teaching
13 Associates Distinguished Lectureship Awards


  • Jill Pittman-Jones Endowed Professorship in Physical Therapy established in 1997-98.
  • Elam-Plowman Endowed Professorship in Physical Therapy established in 1997-98.
  • Stuart Coulter Miller Endowed Professorship in Allied Health established in 2000-01.
  • Nancy Gullatt Endowed Professorship of Speech Pathology established in 2000-01.
  • Ann Taylor Endowed Professorship in Developmental Disabilities established in 2001-02.
  • Elam-Plowman Endowed Chair in Physical Therapy established in 2004-05.
  • Ann Taylor Endowed Chair in Developmental Disabilities established in 2004-05.
  • Philip and Vivian Smith Endowment in Allied Health established in 1990-91.
  • Luiese Lynch Lectureship in Physical Therapy established in 1992-93.
  • Dean Lee Holder Lectureship in Allied Health established in 1995-96.
  • Sharon Sanderson Lectureship in Occupational Therapy established in 1999-00.
  • Barbara M. Curcio Lectureship in Radiologic Technology established in 1997-98.
  • Nancy Lynn Olsmith Endowment in Occupational Therapy established in 1998.
  • Elam-Plowman Physical Therapy Lectureship established in 2005-06.
  • Philip E. Smith Endowed Lectureship established in 2014-2015.